Birthday cake…

So one of my mother’s signature dishes was a cheesecake – not the New York style that I make, but more like a cheese pie using a homemade graham-cracker crust and a lemon gelatin-cream cheese filling. It was no-bake. My father loved it. As a child I loved it. It was a great treat in our house, and even if it was “no-bake” it was made from scratch. I haven’t thought of it in years, and while I helped make it as a child, as an adult I never made it. I learned how to make a New York style cheesecake – baked in the oven and decadently rich and creamy. I became a snob about cheesecake. But today at the coffee shop they had these miniature no-bake cheesecakes, so I bought one in honor of my mother. I haven’t eaten it, just stuck a candle in and thought about her.

Leave a Reply

