Today is my mother’s birthday

So today is my mother’s birthday. It is the first birthday since she died 7 months ago. It feels strange not to be able to celebrate with her and I realize how much I miss her. Not that we were people who lived in each others’ pockets – but she was an important part of my life and while she is still important, there isn’t a physical presence in the same way.

I have these conversations in my head with her, so I thought, why not write them down? That’s the diarist & writer in me. But I think about things and think: she’d like that, or I wonder what she would think (and make up an appropriate response). So here’s to you Mom.

Leave a Reply

