Resisting the urge to rescue them…

So it is absolutely POURING rain – a drenching, soak-you-to-the-skin-in-seconds, kind of rain. And my child, being a teenager, did not take an umbrella when they when out (because it wasn’t raining then). I am typing this to keep myself from texting them and asking if they want me to pick them up. I know that they need to learn to think and be prepared, and if I go out and pick them up, some of the consequences will not happen and they will be less likely to put the pieces together, and more likely to make the same mistake in the future…but it is hard.

When I was a child, my mother worked, and her job had no flexibility. If it was pouring rain I either had a raincoat or umbrella or I got soaked. While I have worked throughout my children’s lives, my jobs have had some flexibility, and I have had more resources, so they have not learned the same lessons. But as I get closer to “launching” my oldest, I think that there are some things they will still need to figure out after they are technically “launched.” Obviously getting soaked is miserable, but not deadly, and it’s good to think about what it means to “be prepared” as you start each day or adventure or event.

The reality is that every generation’s experiences are so different, and the skill sets to be a successful adult have different nuances, and what it means to be a good parent is also different.

And eventually the rain will stop.

Leave a Reply

